ESA title
Signing the accession agreement in Bucharest

Romania accedes to ESA Convention

20/01/2011 2892 views 4 likes
ESA / About Us / Corporate news

ESA PR 04-2011 Romania took a step further in its relations with ESA by signing the Accession Agreement to the ESA Convention on 20 January 2011, to become the 19th ESA Member State.

The signing ceremony took place at the Romanian Ministry of Foreign Affairs in Bucharest, with the participation of Jean-Jacques Dordain, ESA Director General, Teodor Baconschi, Minister of Foreign Affairs, and Marius-Ioan Piso, President and CEO of the Romanian Space Agency. Other government officials and personalities attended the ceremony, including cosmonaut Dumitru Dorin Prunariu, member of the Board of the Romanian Space Agency.

Romania has a long aerospace tradition and has contributed to more than 30 scientific and technological space missions. During the 1970s and 1980s, Romania was an active member of the Soviet Union’s Interkosmos programme to involve fellow socialist nations in space exploration.

Presenting a gift to Romanian Foreign Minister
Presenting a gift to Romanian Foreign Minister

Romania’s cooperation with ESA is long-standing. In 1992, Romania was one of the first Eastern European countries to sign a Cooperation Agreement in the field of the peaceful use of outer space with ESA, paving the way for Romanian participation in several research projects with other European countries. Cooperation between ESA and Romania was strengthened further in October 1999 with the signing of a five-year Framework Cooperation Agreement, and the signature of the European Cooperating State Agreement in 2006.

Romania has participated in several ESA missions, such as Cluster, Herschel, Planck, SOHO and Gaia with co-investigators, and in Earth Observation activities (EDUSPACE software), microgravity and exploration (SURE) and technology activities (the IAP telemedicine project).

Later this year, the Government of Romania will conclude the ratification process and once the ratification instrument is deposited with the Government of France, Romania will become officially the 19th ESA Member State and will make known its interest in ESA’s optional activities.

For further information, please contact:

ESA International Relations Department
Anabelle Fonseca Colomb
Anabelle.fonseca.colomb @

Stephen Airey
Head of Section New, Cooperating and Associate States
Tel. +31 (0) 7156 55295

Related Links