The 2018 case will concern activities on Mars

Manfred Lachs Space Law Moot Court Competition

Each year the ECSL organises, together with the International Institute of Space Law (IISL), the European Rounds of the Manfred Lachs Space Law Moot Court Competition (MLMC). The regional winners from Europe, Asia-Pacific, Africa and North America then compete in the World Finals which are held in conjunction with the annual International Astronautical Congress. The World final of the Manfred Lachs Moot Court Competition has the distinction of being judged by three sitting judges of the International Court of Justice.

The 2019 MLMC European Rounds

The 2019 Manfreds Lachs Moot Court will be organised by the ECSL in collaboration with the University of Paris-Sud. The competition will be organised in Paris, France, from the 21st to 24th of May.

Changes for the 2019 European Rounds competition

The 2019 competition will feature a number of changes from previous European Rounds.  In light of the growing number of teams taking part in the competition, it will be introduced:

a)       Additional preliminary rounds. Each team will plead four times, twice as the Respondent and twice as the Applicant

b)      A set of Supplemental European Rules for the European rounds, which will supplement the IISL Official Rules. 

c)       There will be a registration fee of 200 Euros per team

d)      The competition will commence the morning of the 21st of May. Registration for the competition may already be organised the evening before, on the 20th of May (subject to how many teams sign up for this year’s competition and how many sessions we need to organise). This information will be communicated to all teams after the registration deadline.


In order to register for the competition please complete the following steps:

1)      Fill out the Registration Form in the right hand side bar

2)      Fill out the IISL Licence

3)      Pay 200 Euros to the ECSL account in accordance with instructions listed below

4) Obtain a proof of payment (a screenshot will suffice)

Send all the requested documents to the ECSL Executive Secretary by midnight the 31st of January (CET).

Each team must have one faculty advisor. In addition, a team may have one assistant advisor. Only members of the team will be submitted to the competition, allowed entrance to social events and be allowed to observe closed pleadings for their team.

Registration fee:

The 200 Euro (TWO HUNDRED EURO) registration fee per team, can be made to the ECSL via bank transfer to the following account:

BNP Paribas (FAO ESA/ECSL). IBAN: FR76 3000 4008 2800 0126 8329 176.BIC: BNPAFRPPXXX

Please mark your transfer with the name of the team member making the payment and university name. For example: Mari Eldholm – University of ECSL.

Extensions regarding the payment of a fee may be granted, but an extension need to be requested and approved via email before the registration deadline on the 31st of January. If your team is unable to finance the fee before this date we advise you to get in contact with the ECSL well in advance.


We remind all teams to carefully read both sets of rules applicable to the European Rounds: 

Timeline for the 2019 European Rounds of the Manfred Lachs Moot Court 

  • 15 January 2019 (Tuesday) Deadline for Submission of Requests for Clarifications
  • 31 January 2019 (Thursday) Deadline for the Author of the Problem to give Response to Requests for Clarifications
  • 31 January 2019 (Thursday) Deadline for Team Registration and Payment of Fees
  • 25 February 2019 (Monday) Deadline for Submission of written memorials
  • 21 - 24 May 2019 (Tuesday – Friday) European Rounds will be organised with the University of Paris-Sud, in Paris, France

If you have any questions regarding the competition please contact the ECSL. Secretariat:

Previous Editions of the European Rounds of the MLMC:

Manfred Lachs Moot Court 2018 Official Poster

The most recent European Rounds have taken place in:

2018: NOVA Law School, Portugal 

2017: University of Helsinki, Finland

2016: University of Strathclyde Law School, UK

2015: Belgrade Union University, Serbia

2014: University of Wroclaw, Poland

2013: Sapienza University of Rome, Italy

2012: University of Bucharest, Romania

2011: State University of St. Petersburg, Russia

2010: University of Szechenyi Istvan, Hungary

Copyright 2000 - 2019 © European Space Agency. All rights reserved.