ISS crew visits the EC in Brussels: watch the press briefing

From left to right: Frank de Winne, Jean-Jacques Dordain and Antonio Tajani
29 April 2010

Yesterday ESA Director General Jean-Jacques Dordain met with Antonio Tajani, Vice-President of the European Commission in charge of Industry and Entrepreneurship, in Brussels, on the occasion of the visit of ESA astronaut Frank de Winne and his crewmates, Roman Romanenko (Roscosmos) and Bob Thirsk (Canadian Space Agency).

From 27 May to 1 December 2009 De Winne performed the OasISS mission, a long-duration spaceflight to the International Space Station. During this flight De Winne became the first European and the first non-American and non-Russian Commander of the ISS and was a member of the first six-person ISS Expedition crew.

They exchanged views on the challenges of space exploration and the importance of Europe’s involvement in international cooperation.

Copyright 2000 - 2018 © European Space Agency. All rights reserved.