ESA title
Applications

Sentinel-2A launch event at ESOC

19/06/2015 9589 views 41 likes
ESA / Applications / Observing the Earth / Copernicus / Sentinel-2

Live from ESA’s Space Operations Centre (ESOC) in Darmstadt, Germany: follow the event to celebrate the launch of the first satellite for the Sentinel-2 ‘colour vision’ mission.

 

 

The first in the two-satellite mission, Sentinel-2A, is set for launch from Europe’s Spaceport in French Guiana on 23 June at 01:52 GMT (03:52 CEST).

During the event at ESOC, a number of the key players in the mission will present on preparing the satellite for launch and discuss its benefits and applications.

The live webstream will begin at 01:00 GMT (03:00 CEST) and end at 04:00 GMT (06:00 CEST).

Programme (all times in GMT):

01:00   Welcome addresses by representatives from ESA, the European Commission and the German government

01:20   Status check and introduction to Europe’s Spaceport

01:25   All about Sentinel-2: the hardware, the data, the science

01:40   Live broadcast from French Guiana

01:52   Liftoff

02:00   Moderated discussion with a panel of Sentinel-2 data users

02:20   Q&A about the mission operations, EDRS and the Copernicus programme

02:20   Break

02:40   Live broadcast from French Guiana: status check

02:50   Break

03:00   Live broadcast from French Guiana: status check

03:10   Break

03:30 Press conference

04:00 End of live coverage from ESOC

Related Links