Applications

Watch live: MSG-4 launch

14/07/2015 13395 views 52 likes
ESA / Applications / Observing the Earth / Meteorological missions / Meteosat

Europe’s next weather satellite is set for launch from French Guiana in a 37-minute window starting at 21:42 GMT (23:42 CEST) on 15 July. Follow the launch via live webstream beginning at 21:27 GMT (23:27 CEST).

 

 

Click for an overview liftoff timeline (access a more detailed, extended version via our blog). 

The Meteosat Second Generation (MSG) satellites provide full-disc images over Europe and Africa every 15 minutes and ‘rapid scan’ imagery over Europe every five minutes.

They are operated by Eumetsat – the European Organisation for the Exploitation of Meteorological Satellites – and ESA is responsible for their design, development and in-orbit delivery.

On the night of 15–16 July, MSG-4 will be launched on an Ariane rocket from Europe’s Spaceport in Kourou, French Guiana, an overseas department of France.

Liftoff is expected during a 37-minute window starting at 21:42 GMT (23:42 CEST) on 15 July. The live webstream will begin at 21:27 GMT (23:27 CEST).

MSG-4 will separate from Ariane’s upper stage about 40 minutes after launch, a few minutes after its co-passenger, Embratel’s Star One C4 satellite.

Related Links