ESA title
Agency

LISA Pathfinder preparation

Date: Wed, Sep 16, 2015 | 06:30 - 06:45 GMT | 08:30 - 08:45 CEST

Replay: Wed, Sep 16, 2015 | 15:00 - 15:15 GMT | 17:00 - 17:15 CEST

Type: ESA TV Exchange

Format: 16:9

LISA Pathfinder’s name (Laser Interferometer Space Antenna) clearly indicates the role of precursor that this mission plays.

Its goal is to validate the technology required to detect gravitational waves from space.

Gravitational waves will open a new door for our understanding of the Universe, and at the same time help to verify Einstein’s General Theory of Relativity.  

LISA Pathfinder will be launched end of November on a Vega rocket from Kourou in French Guiana.

This video shows LISA Pathfinder in preparation near Munich in Germany before it was sent to Europe's Spaceport.

It contains interviews with Cesar Garcia Marirrodrigo, LISA Pathfinder Project Manager, ESA, in English and Spanish and Paul Mc Namara, LISA Pathfinder Mission Scientist, ESA in English.

More information at: http://www.esa.int/Our_activities/Space_Science/LISA_Pathfinder_overview

Preview and download:
http://www.esa.int/ESA_Multimedia/Videos/2015/07/LISA_Pathfinder_mission

Script:
LISA Pathfinder_Final Script_Shotlist+TC.docx

Satellite Parameters: Eutelsat 9A at 9 degrees E, transponder 59, downlink frequency 11900.1 horizontally polarised, symbol rate 27,500 FEC 2/3.