Agency

Sentinel 3: technology and heritage

Date: Tue, Feb 02, 2016 | 07:30 - 08:10 GMT | 08:30 - 09:10 CET

Replay: Tue, Feb 02, 2016 | 16:00 - 16:40 GMT | 17:00 - 17:40 CET

Type: ESA TV Exchange

Format: 16:9

Sentinel-3A is scheduled to be launched into orbit this month of February, on top of a Rokot, from the Russian Cosmodrome of Plesetsk, North of Moscow. 

Sentinel 3 will provide systematic measurements of Earth’s oceans, land, ice and atmosphere - with a strong focus on oceans. It will be part of the Copernicus Programme, run by the European Union and the European space Agency, that builds upon the former Global Monitoring for Environment and Security initiative.

Once more ESA has developed an important tool to understand our environment and the climate.

Using state of the art and proven technology the Sentinel-3 satellite is a piece of engineering built on earlier environmental missions such as Envisat.

This video explains the challenges of Sentinel 3. It includes interviews with Bruno Berutti, Sentinel-3 Project Manager, ESA, Susanne Mecklenburg, Sentinel-3 Mission Manager, ESA and Constantin Mavrocordatos, Sentinel-3 payload manager, ESA.

 

More information at: http://www.esa.int/Our_Activities/Observing_the_Earth/Copernicus/Sentinel-3

Preview and download:
http://www.esa.int/ESA_Multimedia/Videos/2015/11/Sentinel-3_Technology_and_heritage

Script:
EbSI-115294.docx

Satellite Parameters: Eutelsat 9A at 9 degrees E, transponder 59, downlink frequency 11900.1 horizontally polarised, symbol rate 27,500 FEC 2/3.