Agency

ExoMars Update : B-Roll

Date: Tue, Feb 23, 2016 | 07:30 - 07:45 GMT | 08:30 - 08:45 CET

Replay: Tue, Feb 23, 2016 | 16:00 - 16:15 GMT | 17:00 - 17:15 CET

Type: ESA TV Exchange

Format: 16:9

ExoMars 2016 is being prepared in Baikonur for a launch next 14 March on a Proton rocket.

This first mission of the ExoMars programme, scheduled to arrive at Mars in October 2016, consists of a Trace Gas Orbiter (TGO) plus an Entry, Descent and landing demonstrator Module (EDM) , known as Schiaparelli.

The main objectives of this mission are to search for evidence of methane and other trace atmospheric gases that could be signatures of active biological or geological processes and to test key technologies in preparation for ESA's contribution to subsequent missions to Mars.

This B Roll shows ExoMars preparation inside the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan with final testing and integration of Trace Gas Orbiter with Schiaparelli Module.

It also includes new graphics of ExoMars 2016 seven month journey to Mars showing its launch and flight onboard Proton, its trajectory in the Solar System, the arrival at Mars and the separation of EDM.

More information at: http://exploration.esa.int/mars/

Preview and download:
http://www.esa.int/ESA_Multimedia/Videos/2016/02/ExoMars_B-Roll_preparation_in_Baikonur

Script:
ExoMars 2016 B.docx

Satellite Parameters: Eutelsat 9A at 9 degrees E, transponder 59, downlink frequency 11900.1 horizontally polarised, symbol rate 27,500 FEC 2/3.