Agency

End of Rosetta Mission Live

Date: Fri, Sep 30, 2016 | 07:45 - 12:15 GMT | 09:45 - 14:15 CEST

Type: ESA TV Live

Format: 16:9

Follow Rosetta's End of Mission with its controlled descent to the surface of the Comet.

The final hours of descent will enable Rosetta to make many once-in-a-lifetime measurements, including very-high-resolution imaging, boosting Rosetta’s science return with precious close-up data achievable only through such a unique conclusion.

30 September

07:45 GMT / 09:45 CET:  Start of live transmission from ESOC Rosetta main control room (MCR)

08:00GMT / 10:00 CET: Rosetta last command

ESA live all the way with clean feed images from MCR for broadcasters

10:30 GMT / 12:20 CEST: Start of ESA programme for sat and web with cameras at ESOC in Rosetta MCR, Principal Investigators Scientific Area and Conference Room

11:20 GMT / 13:20 CEST: Rosetta touchdown on Churyumov–Gerasimenko (+/- 2 minutes)

12:15 GMT / 14:15 CEST: end of live transmission

As soon as possible : Rosetta highlights on ESA TV FTP*

 

Live Transmission on satellite will offer clean feed with audio separate channels with international sound and ESA Programme.

All points (ESOC MCR cams + programme) will be made available for broadcasters as isolated clean feed sources via a multiplexer at ESOC.

ESA TV will edit highlights along the day and put them in a dedicated folder "Rosetta Grand Finale" on ESA TV FTP news site.

ftp://tvdownload.esa.int/  Login: esa / Password: ftp4esa

More information at: http://www.esa.int/Our_Activities/Space_Science/Rosetta

Satellite Parameters:

Eutelsat 10A @ 10degEast
Transponder B5 Channel B (9MHz)
D/link freq: 11135.83 MHz Polarisation X/horizontal
Signal: HD 1080i/50 MPEG4 420 clear SR: 7.200 FEC: ¾ Mod: DVBS2/8PSK
Audio 1: commentated mix
Audio 2: international
Audio mono/PIDs open

For any inquiries regarding satellite or ftp reception please contact the ESA TV production team:
Dominique Detain at dominique.detain@esa.int  / tel + 33 685 114 681
Chris Courtenay Taylor at chrisct@worldwidepictures.tv / tel + 44 7774 275 951