Agency

Bepi Colombo Status

Date: Fri, Feb 03, 2017 | 07:30 - 07:45 GMT | 08:30 - 08:45 CET

Replay: Fri, Feb 03, 2017 | 16:00 - 16:15 GMT | 17:00 - 17:15 CET

Type: ESA TV Exchange

Format: 16:9

 

Preparation of the BepiColombo is going according to plan.

Europe’s first mission to Mercury is currently at ESA’s European Space Research and Technology Centre in the Netherlands where it will soon go through crucial tests.

Bepi Colombo is a joint mission consisting of 2 elements : MPO, Mercury Planetary Orbiter, provided by ESA and MMO, Mercury Magnetospheric Orbiter,  provided by the Japanese Space Agency.
Launch is planned next October 2018, and arrival to Mercury in December 2025.

This video shows BepiColombo elements at ESTEC, it includes an interview with Johannes Benkhoff, ESA BepiColombo Project Scientist.   

 

 

More information at: http://www.esa.int/Our_Activities/Space_Science/BepiColombo_overview2

Preview and download:
https://www.esa.int/ESA_Multimedia/Videos/2017/01/BepiColombo_status

Script:
BepiColombo Status Final.doc

Satellite Parameters: Eutelsat 9A at 9 degrees E, transponder 59, downlink frequency 11900.1 horizontally polarised, symbol rate 27,500 FEC 2/3.