Agency

Sentinel 2B Video News Release

Date: Tue, Feb 21, 2017 | 07:30 - 07:45 GMT | 08:30 - 08:45 CET

Replay: Tue, Feb 21, 2017 | 16:00 - 16:15 GMT | 17:00 - 17:15 CET

Type: ESA TV Exchange

Format: 16:9

Next 6 March Sentinel 2 B will be launched from Europe's Spaceport in French Guiana.

It will join its sister satellite Sentinel 2 A and the fleet of other Sentinel satellites launched for the Copernicus programme, the most ambitious Earth observation programme to date.

It provides accurate, timely and easily accessible information to improve the management of the environment, understand and mitigate the effects of climate change and ensure civil security.

Copernicus is headed by the European Commission (EC) in partnership with the European Space Agency.

ESA coordinates the delivery of data from upwards of 30 satellites. The EC, acting on behalf of the European Union, is responsible for the overall initiative, setting requirements and managing the services.

This video presents the missions of Sentinel 2 B with interviews with Josef Aschbacher, Director of Earth observation programmes, ESA, Bianca Hoersch, Sentinel-2 Mission Manager, ESA and Francois Spoto, Sentinel-2 project manager, ESA.

More information at: http://www.esa.int/Our_Activities/Observing_the_Earth/Copernicus/Sentinel-2

Preview and download:
http://www.esa.int/ESA_Multimedia/Videos/2016/11/Sentinel-2B_ready_for_orbit

Script:
Sentinel-2B, ready for orbit_final Script_shotlist_TC.docx

Satellite Parameters: Eutelsat 9A at 9 degrees E, transponder 59, downlink frequency 11900.1 horizontally polarised, symbol rate 27,500 FEC 2/3.