Agency

Sentinel Services for Agriculture

Date: Tue, Feb 28, 2017 | 08:30 - 08:45 GMT | 09:30 - 09:45 CET

Replay: Tue, Feb 28, 2017 | 16:00 - 16:15 GMT | 17:00 - 17:15 CET

Type: ESA TV Exchange

Format: 16:9

Sentinel-2B will be launched by a Vega rocket from Europe’s Spaceport, French Guiana.

Lift off is scheduled  at 01:49 GMT (02:49 CET) on 7 March, 22:49 on 6 March in Kourou.

It will join its sister satellite Sentinel-2A and the other Sentinels part of the Copernicus programme, the most ambitious Earth observation programme to date.

Sentinel-2A and 2B will be supplying ‘colour vision’ for Copernicus and together they can cover all land surfaces once every 5 days thus optimising global coverage and the data delivery for numerous applications.

The data provided by these Sentinel-2 satellites is particularly suited for agricultural purposes, such as managing administration and precision farming.

ESA is currently working with the European Commission and National stakeholders to understand the full range of opportunities Earth Observation can contribute, in particular to modernize and simplify the Common Agricultural Policy.

This video shows how agriculture benefits from the use of Sentinel data in the Czech Republic.

More information at: http://www.esa.int/Our_Activities/Observing_the_Earth/Copernicus

Preview and download:
http://www.esa.int/ESA_Multimedia/Videos/2017/02/Sentinel_Services_for_Agriculture

Script:
Sentinel services for Agriculture_Finalscript_shotlist+TC.docx

Satellite Parameters: Eutelsat 9A at 9 degrees E, transponder 59, downlink frequency 11900.1 horizontally polarised, symbol rate 27,500 FEC 2/3.