Agency

Orion European Service Module

Date: Tue, Apr 04, 2017 | 06:15 - 06:30 GMT | 08:15 - 08:30 CEST

Replay: Tue, Apr 04, 2017 | 16:00 - 16:15 GMT | 18:00 - 18:15 CEST

Type: ESA TV Exchange

Format: 16:9

Orion is NASA’s latest manned spaceflight vehicle, which will take astronauts to destinations at or beyond low Earth orbit.

In January 2013 it was announced that ESA would provide the European Service Module [ESM] for Orion’s first unmanned mission.

Derived from ESA’s ATV supply spacecraft, the ESM will provide life support, propulsion and structural functions for Orion.

In February 2017 a contract was signed for a second ESM to be used for Orion's following mission that will carry astronauts beyond the moon and back.

 

This A& B Roll shows images and animation of ESM It includes interviews with David Parker, ESA Director of Human Spaceflight and Robotic Exploration, Nico Dettmann, Head of ESA’s Development Department (in English and German), Jim Free, Human Exploration Operations Mission Director, NASA and Matthias Mauer, ESA Astronaut (in English, German, French and Spanish).

More information at: http://www.esa.int/Our_Activities/Human_Spaceflight/Orion

Preview and download:
http://www.esa.int/ESA_Multimedia/Videos/2017/03/Orion_and_the_European_Service_Module

Script:
Orion_and_ESM_FINAL-tc.doc

Satellite Parameters: