ESA title
Agency

Watch out for Asteroids

Date: Tue, Nov 13, 2018 | 07:30 - 07:45 GMT | 08:30 - 08:45 CET

Replay: Tue, Nov 13, 2018 | 16:00 - 16:15 GMT | 17:00 - 17:15 CET

Type: ESA TV Exchange

Format: 16:9

Earth is under the constant threat of bombardment by asteroids. While the majority of the larger ones are known and tracked, the international community is constantly locating smaller asteroids.

ESA’s new Flyeye telescope will improve our chances of detecting these potentially dangerous objects, while upcoming space missions will increase our knowledge of asteroids -

and look at ways of protecting our planet.

Indeed ESA is working on new initiatives among which a set of ‘Space Safety and Security’ activities to enhance the existing Space Situational Awareness (SSA) programme already in place.

The goal is to help protect Earth from dangers from space, like asteroids and harmful space weather, at the same time reducing risks due to hazards in space, such as artificial space debris.

More information at: http://www.esa.int/Our_Activities/Operations/Space_Situational_Awareness

Preview and download:
http://www.esa.int/ESA_Multimedia/Videos/2018/08/ESA_and_Asteroids

Script:
asteroids_August2018.doc

Satellite Parameters: Eutelsat 9A at 9 degrees E, transponder 59, downlink frequency 11900.1 horizontally polarised, symbol rate 27,500 FEC 2/3.