Agency

Ariane 6 and Vega C : new generation of European Launch Vehicles

Date: Thu, Jun 06, 2019 | 06:30 - 06:45 GMT | 08:30 - 08:45 CEST

Replay: Thu, Jun 06, 2019 | 15:00 - 15:15 GMT | 17:00 - 17:15 CEST

Type: ESA TV Exchange

Format: 16:9

ESA is always working for the future of Europe in Space and key to this endeavour is the access to space.

This objective is done in particular by supporting the development of new launchers and next year will be an important year: Vega C and Ariane 6 will fly for the first time.

Vega C is an enhanced version of the existing lightweight Vega with increased power and capacity. 

Ariane 6 is Europe‚Äôs next heavyweight launcher that will replace Ariane 5. With Ariane 6 the approach is evolving in the assembly and production processes and also in the responsibilities shared between ESA and Industry. 

In parallel to preparing a new generation of launchers ESA is also working on its first reusable spacecraft, SpaceRider, that will fly on top of a Vega C and which should be confirmed at Space19+,  the Ministerial Conference in Seville next November.

Already the future of European Space transportation is clearly visible in Kourou where Vega C and Ariane 6 are step by step becoming a reality.

This A & B Roll shows the latest images and also a new animation of Ariane 6 activities at Europe' Spaceport. It includes an interview with Daniel Neuenschwander, ESA Director of Space Transportation, in English, German and French.

More information at: http://www.esa.int/Our_Activities/Space_Transportation

Preview and download:
http://www.esa.int/ESA_Multimedia/Videos/2019/06/Ariane_6_and_Vega_C_-_a_new_generation_of_European_Launch_Vehicles

Script:
1906_002_ESA_Ariane_6_Vega_C_Shotlist_TC.docx

Satellite Parameters: Eutelsat 9A at 9 degrees E, transponder 59, downlink frequency 11900.1 horizontally polarised, symbol rate 27,500 FEC 2/3.