Science & Exploration

CHEOPS & Opsat Soyuz VS23 launch from Kourou

Date: Tue, Dec 17, 2019 | 08:20 - 13:51 GMT | 09:20 - 14:51 CET

Type: ESA TV Live

Format: 16:9

Follow the live launch Video Transmission of Cheops, ESA’s Mission for Exoplanets.

Lift of is scheduled at 05h54 Kourou / 08:54 GMT / 09:54 CET on 17 December 2019 on a Soyuz-Fregat rocket from Europe’s Spaceport in Kourou, French Guiana.

Cheops, ‘Characterising Exoplanet Satellite’, is ESA’s first mission dedicated to the study of extrasolar planets, or exoplanets. It is a partnership between ESA and Switzerland.

The mission will observe bright stars that are already known to host planets, measuring minuscule brightness changes due to the planet’s transit across the star’s disc.

Cheops will target stars hosting planets in the Earth- to Neptune-size range, yielding precise measurements of the planet sizes. This, together with independent information about the planet masses, will allow scientists to determine their density, enabling a first-step characterisation of these extrasolar worlds. A planet’s density provides vital clues about its composition and structure, indicating for example if it is predominantly rocky or gassy, or perhaps harbours significant oceans.

Cheops will lift off as a secondary passenger, hitching a ride on the Soyuz-Fregat that will deliver the first satellite of the Italian space agency ASI’s Cosmo-SkyMed Second Generation constellation into space. The launcher will also carry three ‘CubeSats’, small satellites based on standardised 10 cm cubic units, including ESA’s OPS-SAT – the world’s first free-for-use, in-orbit testbed for new software, applications and techniques in satellite control.

More information at: http://www.esa.int/Science_Exploration/Space_Science/Cheops

Satellite Parameters:

Sat details soon here