Science & Exploration

CHEOPS: The hunt for Exoplanets

Date: Tue, Dec 10, 2019 | 07:30 - 07:55 GMT | 08:30 - 08:55 CET

Replay: Tue, Dec 10, 2019 | 18:30 - 18:55 GMT | 19:30 - 19:55 CET

Type: ESA TV Exchange

Format: 16:9

A powerful space telescope, due for launch from Europe’s spaceport in French Guiana on 17 December 2019, will give scientists a new insight into the nature of planets outside our solar system. 

Cheops – Characterising ExOPlanet Satellite – will study known exoplanets that are orbiting bright stars. 

More than 4000 exoplanets have been discovered and Cheops will be targeting planets between the size of Earth and Neptune, to find out more about their composition, internal structure and whether they might be able to support life. 

The Cheops mission is a partnership between ESA and Switzerland with additional contributions from Austria, Belgium, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and the UK. 

This film examines the nature of exoplanets, the challenge of exoplanet exploration and features the Cheops Science Operations Centre in Geneva, it includes interviews with Didier Queloz, Chair of the CHEOPS Science Team, University of Geneva, Willy Benz, CHEOPS Principal Investigator,University of Bern and Matthias Beck, CHEOPS Ground Segment Manager,University of Geneva).

More information at: http://www.esa.int/Science_Exploration/Space_Science/Cheops

Preview and download:
http://www.esa.int/ESA_Multimedia/Videos/2019/12/Cheops_the_hunt_for_exoplanets

Script:
Cheops - the hunt for exoplanets_FINAL-TC-OK.docx

Satellite Parameters: Eutelsat 9A at 9 degrees E, transponder 59, downlink frequency 11900.1 horizontally polarised, symbol rate 27,500 FEC 2/3.