Enabling & Support

OPS-SAT, a flying lab

Date: Fri, Dec 13, 2019 | 07:30 - 07:45 GMT | 08:30 - 08:45 CET

Replay: Fri, Dec 13, 2019 | 16:00 - 16:15 GMT | 17:00 - 17:15 CET

Type: ESA TV Exchange

Format: 16:9

A flying laboratory, ESA's OPS-SAT will be the first of its kind, with the sole purpose of testing and validating new techniques in mission control and on-board satellite systems.

OPS-SAT is devoted to demonstrating drastically improved mission control capabilities, that will arise when satellites can fly more powerful on-board computers. The satellite is only 30cm high, but it contains an experimental computer ten times more powerful than any current ESA spacecraft.

More information at: http://www.esa.int/Enabling_Support/Operations/OPS-SAT_links_for_media

Satellite Parameters: Eutelsat 9A at 9 degrees E, transponder 59, downlink frequency 11900.1 horizontally polarised, symbol rate 27,500 FEC 2/3.