Applications

Sentinel 6: Ocean topography

Date: Wed, Dec 04, 2019 | 07:30 - 08:10 GMT | 08:30 - 09:10 CET

Replay: Wed, Dec 04, 2019 | 18:00 - 18:40 GMT | 19:00 - 19:40 CET

Type: ESA TV Exchange

Format: 16:9

The latest Copernicus Sentinel satellite, Sentinel-6  is ready for final testing.

Designed and built to chart changing sea level, this is the first of two identical satellites that will orbit Earth consecutively, continuing the time series of sea level measurements that started with ocean topography missions in the 1990s.

This mission is of vital importance as records show that global sea level has been rising since 1993 and that this rise is even accelerating.

In light of climate change, the safety of people and the wellbeing of our planet, we need to monitor the sea level very closely.

Sentinel-6, which will take on this task, is a collaboration between ESA, the European Commission, EUMETSAT, NASA and NOAA.

Its launch is currently planned end of 2020 from Vandenberg Air Force base in California, USA.

This A&B-Roll shows Sentinel 6 in Ottobrunn IABG cleanroom, it includes interviews with:

Josef Aschbacher, Director of Earth observation programmes, ESA in English and German

Pierrik Vuilleumier,  Sentinel-6 Project Manager, ESA in English and French

Guido Levrini, Copernicus space segment programme manager, ESA in English and Italian.

More information at: http://www.esa.int/Applications/Observing_the_Earth/Copernicus/Overview4

Preview and download:
http://www.esa.int/ESA_Multimedia/Videos/2019/12/Sentinel-6_charting_sea_level

Script:
1914_ESA_Sentinel6_Final script_shotlist_TC-OK.docx

Satellite Parameters: Eutelsat 9A at 9 degrees E, transponder 59, downlink frequency 11900.1 horizontally polarised, symbol rate 27,500 FEC 2/3.