New Chief Executive of the UK Space Agency Appointed

David Parker
23 January 2013

David Parker has been acting Chief Executive of the agency since December 2012, and will take up the role with immediate effect.

The Minister for Universities and Science David Willetts said: “I’m delighted to welcome David Parker as the next Chief Executive of the UK Space Agency. He has been part of the agency since its creation and most recently played a leading role in securing £1.2 billion of UK investment at the European Space Agency Ministerial meeting.

“His extensive experience of government and industry will be vital in realising our ambition for the continued growth of the UK space sector.”

Dr. Parker said: “I am extremely proud to accept this position. The last two years have proved what we can accomplish in space through collaboration and targeted investment. Britain is working together for a remarkable future in space, and at the UK Space Agency, we are leading the way.”

Rob Douglas, Chair of the UK Space Agency Steering Board said “David has been part of the UK Space Agency since it was founded in 2010, and he understands well the ambitions of the UK space sector. I am confident he will be able to balance the scientific, industrial and public sector interests so that we can continue and build on the successes of the last two years."

ESA Director General Jean-Jacques Dordain congratulated David Parker on his new appointment "Knowing David's depth of experience and great dedication, I look forward to working with him to strengthen the partnership between ESA and the UK Space Agency for our mutual benefit."

David has been involved in the UK space sector since 1990 having completed a PhD in aeronautics and astronautics at Southampton University. He has worked in British Aerospace Space Systems as a propulsion and GNC engineer and later in management and business development roles in EADS Astrium. He was seconded to the UK Space Agency's predecessor, BNSC, between 1997 and 1999 to lead its space innovation projects.Between 2004 and 2010, he worked at the UK's science funding council for space science. He currently is the UK's acting Head of Delegation to ESA, Chair of its Programme Board for Human Spaceflight, Microgravity and Exploration. He co-authored the Global Exploration Strategy Framework Document in 2007 which led to the creation of International Space Exploration Coordination Group (ISECG).

Copyright 2000 - 2018 © European Space Agency. All rights reserved.