Conditions to apply

Students who would like to participate in the Fly Your Thesis! programme must comply with the following criteria at the time of the application:

  • be aged between 18 and 32;
  • a citizen of an ESA Member or Cooperating State*;
  • a full-time master or PhD student in a university of an ESA Member or Cooperating State* studying a scientific or engineering subject.

Conditions for participation

One important condition is that the experiment be an integral part of the students’ theses. This can be achieved through a master's thesis, a PhD thesis, a research programme or any form of project supported by the applicant’s university.

At the time of the application, the student teams must be able to show ESA's Education Office that they have their university’s support through a letter of endorsement from an endorsing professor or academic supervisor.

Teams should be composed of two to four students all of which must fulfil the eligibility criteria. At least two team members should comply with the condition of involvement in the syllabus (see above). The final number of team members that can personally assist and participate in the execution of the experiments (should the team be selected) will depend strictly on the requirements of the experiment itself and is subject to acceptance from the review board, who may decide to reduce the size of the team. 

The initial composition of the team cannot be changed throughout the programme. If, for exceptional reasons, changes are absolutely necessary, they will be subject to the approval of the review board.

Experiments on animals, genetically modified organisms and medical experiments with human subjects will not be accepted.

Proposals identical to those already submitted to ESA’s Parabolic Flight Campaign programme of the Directorate of Human Space Flight and Operations will not be accepted.

A particular experiment proposal can be submitted a maximum of two times to the 'Fly your Thesis!' programme.

Priority will be given to teams and/or projects that haven't flown on parabolic flights already. 

Submitted proposals will be evaluated on completion of all the relevant steps. Please read the how to apply page carefully.

Please note that the conditions detailed above are subject to change without prior notice.

* ESA Member States in 2015
Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland,  Portugal, Romania, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom and Canada (Associate Member)

European Cooperating States
Bulgaria, Latvia, Lithuania, Slovakia and Slovenia

Cooperating States
Cyprus, Malta 

Copyright 2000 - 2015 © European Space Agency. All rights reserved.