ESA title

Sponsorship details

3658 views 7 likes
ESA / Education / Rexus/Bexus

Funding is available for students’ travel, accommodation and subsistence expenses related to the REXUS/BEXUS programme. A maximum of four students from each participating SNSA/ESA team can be sponsored by ESA’s Education Office per event (for some events ESA may only sponsor one or two students as required).

Sponsored events may include: two formal experiment reviews, integration events (REXUS only), the launch campaign and a results symposium.

Eligibility criteria

In order to be eligible for sponsorship, the following criteria must be fulfilled at the time of application:

Students who do not meet the sponsorship criteria may still be able to attend the events under their own funding.

Endorsing professor

Each SNSA/ESA team applying must be supported by one of their professors or academic supervisors, whose role will be to supervise the work of the students. This person must belong to the same institution as at least one of the students and will be expected to support the team in their efforts to develop and deliver the experiment. After the selection of the team, the professor or academic supervisor, along with the team leader, will have to complete and sign an acceptance letter.


Technical experts from ESA, SSC, ZARM and DLR will provide training, carry out design reviews and offer technical support and guidance to student teams throughout the project.

In addition to this, the support of an experienced engineer or scientist from a suitable field will be offered to each SNSA/ESA team following the PDR. The mentor will follow the integration and testing phase, offering advice on the functional aspects of the experiment in order to assist the team in meeting their scientific or technical objectives.

ESA Member States: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, The Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and the United Kingdom. 

Further to the 22 Member States, also Canada and Slovenia, based on their agreements with ESA, qualify to fully participate in the programmes of the ESA Education Office.

Related Links