ESA title
Back to Index
Science & Exploration

N° 9–1995: Announcement of ESA's astronauts selection for EUROMIR 95

9 March 1995

On Friday 17 March 1995 at 16h45, at a press conference held at ESA/EAC in Cologne, Germany, the Director General of ESA, Mr. Jean-Marie Luton, will announce which of the two ESA astronauts currently training for the EUROMIR 95 mission- Christer Fuglesang from Sweden and Thomas Reiter from Germany- will fly this 135 day long mission on Mir.

The announcement of the selected candidates will be followed by a press briefing with the participation of Jörg Feustel- Büechl, ESA Director for Manned Spaceflight and Microgravity and Wolfgang Nellessen, ESA's EUROMIR 95 Project Manager. General Piotr Klimuk, Chief of the Youri Gagarin Cosmonauts Training Center, and Dr. Alexandr Alexandrov, Head of the Cosmonauts Division at RSC Energia, will also be present.

A question and answer session with Christer Fuglesang, Thomas Reiter and their Russian colleagues cosmonauts from the crew that is cheduled to fly (Crew 1) and the stand-by crew (Crew 2) will be held immediately after the press conference.

If you wish to attend the event please fill in the attached form and return it- preferably by fax- to :
ESA/EAC, Cologne,
Tel + 49 2203 60 01 41, Fax +49 2203 60 01 66.