ESA title
Back to Index French German

N° 40–2014: Call for Media: ESA Council Meeting at Ministerial Level, Luxembourg, 2 December 2014

13 November 2014

Ministers in charge of space activities within the 20 ESA Member States and Canada will meet in Luxembourg on 2 December to take key decisions on Europe's launcher programmes, the European Participation in the ISS Exploitation Programme, the future European strategy for exploration and the evolution of ESA.

A background note covering the objectives and programmatic aspects for debate and tabled for discussion will be issued separately.
Address of event: New Congress Centre Kirchberg (NCCK), 4 Place de l'Europe, L-1499 Luxembourg


Media wishing to attend must be accredited by Tuesday, 25 November. To obtain a personal access badge, press credentials are required for accreditation.
The passport or national ID card listed on the accreditation form must be shown at the venue. No other means of identification will be accepted. For accreditation, please fill out the form at:

For this new venue, ESA is not arranging accommodation for media.

Provisional press programme

Please note that the proceedings are not open to media.
Monday, 1 December

15:00 -19:00
Opening of Press Centre and accreditation formalities

Tuesday, 2 December
Opening of Press Centre and accreditation formalities
08:45 - 09:00
Opportunity for photographers to visit the conference room
Council Meeting at Ministerial Level starts (not open to media)
Press briefing: introduction to the Council deliberations
Official group photo of Ministers (for professional photographers only)
Lunch break
Meeting resumes
Expected end of meeting, followed by a press conference with the ESA Director General and the Chairs of the Council at Ministerial Level.
The press briefing will be live-streamed on ESA?s website.
Press Centre closes

All requests for interviews should be addressed to ESA Media Relations at the Press Centre.


ESA TV will edit highlights after the conference and put them in a dedicated folder on ESA TV FTP news site: Login: esa/ Password ftp4esa
All details will be available at:


The latest high-resolution images can be found at:
ESA's Multimedia Gallery:
ESA's Photo Library for Professionals:
Media image queries can be directed to

Social media
ESA will cover events on Social Media via the following channels:
Twitter Hashtag #ESAMC14
Additional coverage will be available via
Flickr -

About the European Space Agency

The European Space Agency (ESA) provides Europe's gateway to space.

ESA is an intergovernmental organisation, created in 1975, with the mission to shape the development of Europe's space capability and ensure that investment in space delivers benefits to the citizens of Europe and the world.

ESA has 20 Member States: Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxem-bourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and the United Kingdom, of whom 18 are Member States of the EU. Two other Member States of the EU, Hungary and Estonia, are likely soon to become new ESA Member States.

ESA has Cooperation Agreements with six other Member States of the EU. Canada takes part in some ESA programmes under a Cooperation Agreement.

ESA is also working with the EU on implementing the Galileo and Copernicus programmes.

By coordinating the financial and intellectual resources of its members, ESA can undertake programmes and activities far beyond the scope of any single European country.

ESA develops the launchers, spacecraft and ground facilities needed to keep Europe at the forefront of global space activities.

Today, it develops and launches satellites for Earth observation, naviga-tion, telecommunications and astronomy, sends probes to the far reaches of the Solar System and cooperates in the human exploration of space.

Learn more about ESA at

For further information:

ESA Media Relations Office


Tel: +33 1 53 69 72 99