ESA title
Back to Index French German

N° 17–2016: Call for Media: ESA at the Berlin Air and Space Show

24 May 2016

ESA will be exhibiting in the ‘Space for Earth’ space pavilion at ILA, the Berlin Air and Space Show on 1–4 June.Media are invited to join a press conference by ESA’s Director General Jan Woerner.

ILA is one of the world’s largest aerospace trade shows, bringing together key players from the international aerospace community, industry, space agencies and trade visitors interested in discovering the latest aerospace developments and new business opportunities. 

The space pavilion in Hall 4 in conjunction with the German Federal Ministry of Economics and Energy, the DLR German Aerospace Center and the German Aerospace Industries Association, will feature the wealth of ESA and German national programmes across all space domains, focusing on recent mission results and upcoming launches.

ILA will welcome trade visitors from Wednesday 1 June to Friday 3 June, and will open its doors to the general public on Friday 3 June and Saturday 4 June.

Media events

Media are invited to join the ESA Director General’s press conference, where an overview of the status of ESA’s many programmes will be provided.

Time: 1 June at 15:30 CEST

Location: The Space Pavilion


Throughout the week, the space pavilion will host a number of presentations and events, including a dedicated Space Day conference on Thursday 2 June for invited guests and media. More details on these events will be posted on ESA’s web site closer to the date. 

About the European Space Agency

The European Space Agency (ESA) provides Europe’s gateway to space.

ESA is an intergovernmental organisation, created in 1975, with the mission to shape the development of Europe’s space capability and ensure that investment in space delivers benefits to the citizens of Europe and the world.

ESA has 22 Member States: Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and the United Kingdom, of whom 20 are Member States of the EU.

ESA has established formal cooperation with seven other Member States of the EU. Canada takes part in some ESA programmes under a Cooperation Agreement.

By coordinating the financial and intellectual resources of its members, ESA can undertake programmes and activities far beyond the scope of any single European country. It is working in particular with the EU on implementing the Galileo and Copernicus programmes.

ESA develops the launchers, spacecraft and ground facilities needed to keep Europe at the forefront of global space activities.

Today, it develops and launches satellites for Earth observation, navigation, telecommunications and astronomy, sends probes to the far reaches of the Solar System and cooperates in the human exploration of space.

Learn more about ESA at

For further information, please contact:

ESA Media Relations Office

Tel: +33 1 53 69 72 99