Back to Index

N° 5–2019: Call for media: EU-ESA Space Council

27 May 2019

The meeting of the 9th EU-ESA Space Council will take place between 11:15 and 13:00 on Tuesday 28 May 2019, debating the theme ‘Space as an enabler’. Members of the media are invited to attend a press conference at 13:15 at the LEX Building in Brussels, where Spain’s Minister for Science, Innovation and Universities Pedro Duque and Nicolae Hurduc, Minister for Research and Innovation of Romania will speak.

The press conference will also be streamed online on the EU’s website. ESA Director General Jan Wörner will be available for comment following the presentation by the ministers of their conclusion of the Space Council.

The Space Council was established to coordinate and facilitate cooperative activities between the European Community and ESA through their Framework Agreement, which was adopted in 2003 and entered into force in May 2004. ESA and the EU signed their ‘Joint Statement on Shared Vision and Goals for the Future of European Space’ in 2016.

The meeting takes place on the margins of the EU Competitiveness Council, where ministers will also have a policy debate on the EU’s role in global space policy.  

Programme times

+/- 10:45 CEST

European Space Agency (ESA) Council at ministerial level (roundtable)

+/-11:15 CEST

Space Council
Policy debate: Space as an enabler

13:30 Press conference


The event will be held at LEX Building, 145 rue de la Loi, Brussels, Belgium.

Media accreditation

Access to LEX building will be granted upon presentation of:

Follow online

Photos and video coverage of the event will be available for preview and download on

Livestream of press conference on and

For background information see: and

About the European Space Agency

The European Space Agency (ESA) provides Europe’s gateway to space.

ESA is an intergovernmental organisation, created in 1975, with the mission to shape the development of Europe’s space capability and ensure that investment in space delivers benefits to the citizens of Europe and the world.

ESA has 22 Member States: Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and the United Kingdom. Slovenia is an Associate Member.

ESA has established formal cooperation with six Member States of the EU. Canada takes part in some ESA programmes under a Cooperation Agreement.

By coordinating the financial and intellectual resources of its members, ESA can undertake programmes and activities far beyond the scope of any single European country. It is working in particular with the EU on implementing the Galileo and Copernicus programmes as well as with Eumetsat for the development of meteorological missions.

ESA develops the launchers, spacecraft and ground facilities needed to keep Europe at the forefront of global space activities.

Today, it develops and launches satellites for Earth observation, navigation, telecommunications and astronomy, sends probes to the far reaches of the Solar System and cooperates in the human exploration of space. ESA also has a strong applications programme developing services in Earth observation, navigation and telecommunications.


For further information, please contact:

ESA Newsroom and Media Relations

Tel. +31715656409