ESA title
Back to Index French German

N° 20–2016: ESA at the European Space Solutions conference

25 May 2016

ESA will be present during the European Space Solutions conference on 30 May – 3 June in The Hague, the Netherlands.

Media representatives are invited to attend the following events taking place on Monday, 30 May.


Media moment following the Informal Space Ministerial Meeting

  • Henk Kamp, Minister of Economic Affairs, the Netherlands
  • Elżbieta Bieńkowska, European Commissioner for Internal Market, Industry, Entrepreneurship and SMEs
  • Jan Woerner, Director General, ESA

Organised by the Netherlands presidency of the Council of the EU.

Venue: Room Kilimanjaro 1&2



Copernicus Sentinel-3 First Images and Demonstration of Applications

Jointly organised by the EC, ESA and Eumetsat

Venue: Main exhibition lounge

Programme outline


General introduction to the Copernicus Programme, by Elżbieta Bieńkowska, European Commissioner for Internal Market, Industry, Entrepreneurship and SMEs


The Copernicus Space Component, by Jan Woerner, Director General, ESA


Sentinel-3 operations and data access in Eumetsat, by Alain Ratier, Director General, Eumetsat


Sentinel-3 mission status and outlook

  • -Susanne Mecklenburg, Sentinel-3 Mission Manager, ESA
  • -Bruno Berruti, Sentinel-3 Project Manager, ESA
  • -Hilary Wilson, Sentinel-3 Mission Manager, Eumetsat


Sentinel-3 contributing to services over land, by Alan Belward, Head of Unit, JRC


Sentinel-3 for the atmosphere, by Juan Garces de Marcilla, Director, ECMWF


Q&A session


Attending the conference

Media interested in attending the conference are requested to register via:

All events are in the World Forum, located at:

World Forum
Churchillplein 10
2517 JW The Hague
The Netherlands

About the European Space Agency

The European Space Agency (ESA) provides Europe’s gateway to space.

ESA is an intergovernmental organisation, created in 1975, with the mission to shape the development of Europe’s space capability and ensure that investment in space delivers benefits to the citizens of Europe and the world.

ESA has 22 Member States: Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and the United Kingdom, of whom 20 are Member States of the EU.

ESA has established formal cooperation with seven other Member States of the EU. Canada takes part in some ESA programmes under a Cooperation Agreement.

By coordinating the financial and intellectual resources of its members, ESA can undertake programmes and activities far beyond the scope of any single European country. It is working in particular with the EU on implementing the Galileo and Copernicus programmes.

ESA develops the launchers, spacecraft and ground facilities needed to keep Europe at the forefront of global space activities.

Today, it develops and launches satellites for Earth observation, navigation, telecommunications and astronomy, sends probes to the far reaches of the Solar System and cooperates in the human exploration of space.

Learn more about ESA at

For further information, please contact:

ESA Media Relations Office

Tel: +33 1 53 69 72 99