ESA title
Back to Index French German
Enabling & Support

N° 10–2013: Second Vega launch postponed by 24 hours

25 April 2013

To carry out additional checks on the mobile gantry system used on the Vega launch complex (SLV) at the CSG, Europe’s Spaceport, ESA and Arianespace have decided to postpone the Vega launch VV02 for 24 hours.

Liftoff is now scheduled for the night of3/4 May at exactly:

23:06:31 (local time in French Guiana on 3 May)

02:06:31 (GMT on 4 May)

04:06:31 (Paris time on 4 May)

About the European Space Agency

The European Space Agency (ESA) is Europe’s gateway to space.

ESA is an intergovernmental organisation, created in 1975, with the mission to shape the development of Europe’s space capability and ensure that investment in space delivers benefits to the citizens of Europe and the world.

ESA has 20 Member States: Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and the United Kingdom, of whom 18 are Member States of the EU.

ESA has Cooperation Agreements with eight other Member States of the EU and is discussing an Agreement with the one remaining (Bulgaria). Canada takes part in some ESA programmes under a Cooperation Agreement.

ESA is also working with the EU on implementing the Galileo and Copernicus programmes.

By coordinating the financial and intellectual resources of its members, ESA can undertake programmes and activities far beyond the scope of any single European country.

ESA develops the launchers, spacecraft and ground facilities needed to keep Europe at the forefront of global space activities.

Today, it launches satellites for Earth observation, navigation, telecommunications and astronomy, sends probes to the far reaches of the Solar System and cooperates in the human exploration of space.

Learn more at



For further information:

ESA Media Relations


Tel: +33(0)1.5369.7299