STS-128 crew portrait

Alissé mission facts

SHUTTLE CREW:

  • Shuttle Commander: Frederick Sturckow (NASA)
  • Shuttle Pilot: Kevin Ford (NASA)
  • Mission Specialist: Christer Fuglesang (ESA)
  • Mission Specialist: Jose Hernandez (NASA)
  • Mission Specialist: John Olivas (NASA)
  • Mission Specialist: Patrick Forrester (NASA)
  • ISS Flight Engineer (ascent): Nicole Stott (NASA)
  • ISS Flight Engineer (descent): Timothy Kopra (NASA)

SPACECRAFT:

Shuttle Orbiter: Discovery

MISSION:

ESA mission designation: Alissé
Shuttle mission designation: STS-128
ISS assembly flight designation: 17A

Launch: From Launch Pad 39A, Kennedy Space Center, Florida, USA on 29 August 2009 at 05:59 CEST (03:59 UT) /28 August at 23:59 local time in Florida
Launch window: 10 minutes
Initial orbit altitude: 226 kilometres
ISS altitude: ~350 kilometres
Inclination: 51.6°
Mission duration: 13 days, 20 hours, 53 minutes, 45 seconds

Landing: Edwards Air Force Base, California, on 12 August at 02:53 CEST (00:53 UT), 11 August at 08:53 EDT.

PAYLOAD

Primary payload:
Multi-Purpose Logistics Module (MPLM)

Secondary payload (ascent):
Ammonia Tank Assembly

Secondary payload (descent):
European Technology Exposure Facility (EuTEF), MISSE 6A and 6B, Old Ammonia Tank Assembly.

Principal payload racks (MPLM):
Minus Eighty Degrees Laboratory Freezer for the ISS (MELFI-2), Material Science Laboratory in the Material Science Research Rack; Node 3 Atmospheric Revitalization System; Fluids Integrated Rack, COLBERT Treadmill, Crew Quarters

Last update: 14 September 2009

Copyright 2000 - 2014 © European Space Agency. All rights reserved.