Andromède mission landing - photo report

Andromède mission descends to Earth
31 October 2001

Andromède mission crew members, ESA astronaut Claudie Haigneré, Victor Afanassiev and Konstantin Kozeev, land in Kazakhstan after a 10 day mission to the International Space Station.

Andromède mission makes first contact on landing
Andromède mission makes first contact on landing

The Soyuz touched ground on 31 October 2001 at 05:59:26 CET (04:59:26 GMT) 180 km from the town of Dsheskasgan, in northern Kazakhstan, as planned. The landing took place under normal conditions.

Andromède mission lands in a cloud of dust
Andromède mission lands in a cloud of dust

The Andromède crew boarded the Soyuz vehicle on the evening of Tuesday 30 October. Closure of the hatch took place at 23:37 CET (22:37 GMT) followed by the undocking of the Soyuz vehicle on Wednesday 31 October at 02:39 CET (01:39 GMT).

Andromède mission landing site
Andromède mission landing site

The crew's mission to the International Space Station lasted a total of 10 days, during which time several scientific and technological experiments were undertaken.

Claudie waves from inside the cramped Soyuz
Claudie helped out of the Soyuz
Claudie is helped out of the Soyuz

With the return of the crew to Earth, the other prime objective of the mission has now been successfully completed - to deliver the Station's new lifeboat and exchange for the older Soyuz vehicle that had been attached to the Station for the past six months.

Claudie, who became the first European woman to board the International Space Station, described the mission as "a challenging and intensely fulfilling experience".

Andromède crew return from ISS
Andromède crew receives a warm welcome
Copyright 2000 - 2014 © European Space Agency. All rights reserved.