1 June 2010

These are the conditions of the ESA's competition to name Paolo Nespoli's mission to the International Space Station in 2010-2011.

  • Proposals should be sent by email to by 18:00 CEST (16:00 GMT) on 30 June 2010 with the subject line ‘Paolo Nespoli Mission Name Competition’.

  • The proposed name should be a word or a short combination of words. Do not use a personal name, unless it is a mythological name with a commonly known symbolic meaning.

  • Include your real full name, age, home address and phone number in your email.

  • The proposal should be a maximum of one A4 page, 12 pt, single space.

  • The email size should not exceed 3 MB.

  • Please write in your email your real full name, age, home address and phone number.

  • The proposals should be submitted in English or Italian. Do not worry if your language is not perfect; as long as the idea is understandable, it will be considered.

  • The winning proposal will be published on the ESA website in July 2010.

  • By submitting the application, the applicant gives permission to ESA to publish their name, and allocates to ESA all the rights to use the proposal for the purposes outlined in this announcement and for purposes related to ESA communications.

  • All submissions are individual. No group submissions will be accepted.

  • By submitting the proposal, the participant declares that this is their own work and is not copied from any other original work. ESA bears no responsibility for verifying the authenticity of the proposals.

  • For applicants below age of 18, by submitting the proposal they confirm that a parent/legal guardian has been informed of the submission and agreed to it, taking into account the above conditions.

  • ESA staff members and contractors and their relatives are not allowed to take part in this competition.

The competition is open to all citizens and residents of ESA’s Member States: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and the UK.

Copyright 2000 - 2018 © European Space Agency. All rights reserved.