Mission milestones

ESA astronaut Christer Fuglesang is Mission Specialist for STS-128

STS-127 (2J/A) Space Shuttle Endeavour: Kibo Laboratory External Platform (15-31 July 2009)

After ESA astronaut Frank De Winne arrived on the International Space Station, the first change to ISS assembly occurred as part of the 2J/A flight on STS-127 with Space Shuttle Endeavour. This mission installed the external platform on the Japanese Kibo Laboratory. The STS-127 mission also exchanged Koichi Wakata for Timothy Kopra as Expedition 20 Flight Engineer.

STS-128 (17A) Space Shuttle Discovery: Multi-Purpose Logistics Module (around 25 August 2009)

The STS-128 mission will once again unite two ESA astronauts on the ISS at the same time. Frank De Winne will be joined by Swedish ESA astronaut Christer Fuglesang, who is a Mission Specialist for STS-128 and will undertake spacewalks as part of the mission. STS-128 is currently scheduled for launch in August.

STS-128 (ISS assembly flight 17A) is principally a logistics mission and will bring one of the European-built Multi-Purpose Logistics Modules to the ISS. These are pressurised cargo carriers that are transported to the ISS in the Shuttle’s cargo bay. The mission will also exchange NASA astronaut Timothy Kopra for NASA astronaut Nicole Stott as Expedition 20 Flight Engineer.

JAXA's HTV is captured by the Station's robotic arm
The Station's robotic arm will be used to capture and berth the HTV

H-II Transfer Vehicle (HTV) (11 September 2009 Japanese time - 10 September European time)

During the OasISS mission the Japanese Aerospace Exploration Agency (JAXA) will launch the very first H-II Transfer Vehicle, or HTV, to the ISS.

HTV is an unmanned logistics vehicle, like the European Automated Transfer Vehicle (ATV) or Russian Progress spacecraft. The HTV will bring up to six tonnes of necessary supplies and equipment to the ISS as well as helping to remove any waste or unwanted equipment from the Station.

ESA astronaut Frank De Winne will be one of the operators of the Space Station Remote Manipulator System (the Station’s principal robotic arm) used to capture the HTV. The robotic arm will then be used to berth the HTV to the European-built Node 2 module in the same way that the European-built Multi-Purpose Logistics Modules are docked to the Station from the Shuttle's cargo bay.

Soyuz TMA-16 (20S) (30 September 2009)

Currently scheduled for launch on 30 September 2009, Soyuz TMA-16 will launch from the Baikonur Cosmodrome on ISS Flight 20S carrying NASA astronaut Jeffrey Williams, Roscosmos cosmonaut Maxim Surayev and spaceflight participant Guy Laliberté.

On arrival at the Station, both Williams and Surayev become Flight Engineers for the six-strong Expedition 21 crew under the command of Frank De Winne. They will remain on the ISS after De Winne’s departure, with Williams taking over the responsibility of ISS Commander for Expedition 22.

Progress 11P
The unmanned Russian Progress brings supplies and equipment to the ISS

Progress 34/35 (24 July/15 Oct 2009)

During the OasISS mission two Russian Progress logistics flights will be launched, bringing necessary supplies and equipment to the International Space Station.

Progress 34P launched from Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan on 24 July 2009. Progress 35P is currently scheduled for launch from Baikonur Cosmodrome on 15 October 2009.

Once at the Station the Progress supply spacecraft is gradually filled with waste and equipment no longer needed to be burnt up in the Earth’s atmosphere following undocking at the end of the Progress’ mission.

To this end Progress 33P undocked from the ISS during the OasISS mission on 30 June 2009.

Mini Research Module 2/Soyuz-U (10 November 2009)

Just prior to De Winne’s departure from the Station the Russian Mini Research Module 2 is scheduled for launch to the ISS by a Russian Soyuz-U launcher. Launch is currently scheduled for 10 November, with docking planned two days later.

Once Mini Research Module 2 arrives at the ISS it will be docked to the zenith port of the Zvezda Service Module’s transfer compartment i.e. the port facing away from the Earth with the ISS in its normal orbital flight profile.

The Mini Research Module 2 has two primary functions. It serves as a docking port for the docking of the Soyuz and Progress transport and cargo vehicles to the Station. This will obviously be advantageous in light of increased Russian Soyuz/Progress launches due to an increase to a six-member crew. Secondly the new module takes over as primary Russian airlock from Pirs for the performance of spacewalks by two Station crewmembers using Russian Orlan spacesuits.

(Note: All dates listed here are subject to change)

Last update: 11 August 2009

Copyright 2000 - 2014 © European Space Agency. All rights reserved.