Rules and conditions

Inside landing capsule

These are the rules and conditions for the naming competition of André Kuipers´ next ISS mission. Please read the instructions carefully before sending your proposal!

How to submit a name

Send your proposal to by 18:00 CEST (16:00 GMT) on 30 June 2011. ESA bears no responsibility for any delay or loss of email.

Please put 'Andre Kuipers Mission Name Competition' in the subject line of the email.

The name should be a word or a short combination of words. Do not use a personal name, unless it is a mythological name with a commonly known symbolic meaning.

The proposal should be maximum one A4 page, 12 pt, single space.

The email size should not exceed 3 MB.

Please write in your email your full name, age, home address and phone number.

The proposals should be submitted in English or Dutch. Do not worry if your language is not perfect. As long as the idea is understandable, it will be considered.

The winning proposal will be published on the ESA website in August 2011.


The competition is open to all citizens or residents of ESA’s Member States*.

By submitting the application, the applicant gives permission to ESA to publish their name, and hands over to ESA all the rights to use the proposal for the purposes outlined in this announcement and for purposes related to ESA communications.

All submissions are individual. No group submissions will be accepted.

By submitting the proposal, the participant declares that this is their own work and is not copied from any other original work. ESA bears no responsibility for verifying the authenticity of the proposals.

For applicants below the age of 18, by submitting the proposal they confirm that a parent/legal guardian is informed about the submission and agreed to it, taking into account the above conditions.

ESA staff members and contractors and their relatives are not allowed to take part in this competition.

* Citizens or residents of the following states are allowed to participate in the competition: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, The Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and the United Kingdom.

Copyright 2000 - 2018 © European Space Agency. All rights reserved.