Space Shuttle Columbia and her crew

STS-107 crew
STS-107 crew

At about 14:00 GMT (15:00 Central European Time), Saturday 1 February 2003, the Space Shuttle Columbia was lost and seven NASA astronauts perished. They were Rick Husband, Mission Commander; William McCool, Pilot; Michael Anderson, Payload Commander; Kalpana Chawla, Mission Specialist; Laurel Clark, Mission Specialist; David Brown, Mission Specialist and the Israeli astronaut Ilan Ramon, Payload Specialist.

For further information see:

Last update: 5 February 2003

Copyright 2000 - 2018 © European Space Agency. All rights reserved.