Video replay: ESA selects new European astronauts

Fuglesang during second spacewalk

A replay of the presentation of six new European astronauts at ESA Headquarters on 20 May 2009. They were introduced by Jean-Jacques Dordain, ESA Director General, and Simonetta Di Pippo, ESA Director of Human Spaceflight.

Presentation of Europe's new astronauts at ESA Headquarters on 20 May 2009 (click to access download versions)

The six new European astronauts are:

1. Samantha Cristoforetti, Italian
2. Alexander Gerst, German
3. Andreas Mogensen, Danish
4. Luca Parmitano, Italian
5. Timothy Peake, British
6. Thomas Pesquet, French

Last update: 25 May 2009

Copyright 2000 - 2018 © European Space Agency. All rights reserved.