Watch the spacewalk

Join us live for the spacewalk by ESA astronaut Luca Parmitano and NASA’s Chris Cassidy. Streaming starts at 11:00 GMT (13:00 CEST). The  spacewalk begins at 12:55 GMT (14:55 CEST). Luca's suit is all-white, while that of Chris bears the red stripes.

 

Their tasks include laying cable routings for the future Russian Nauka laboratory module, installing and replacing communication and heat management systems, and retrieving a camera and experiments for return to Earth. Part of his work will involve Luca standing on a work platform on the Station’s robotic arm under the control of NASA astronaut Karen Nyberg inside the Cupola observation module. Their long day will finish around 21:00 GMT (23:00 CEST) when they return inside NASA’s Quest airlock. Their exertions will be followed by a quiet day to allow them to recover and begin preparing for their second spacewalk in mid-July.

Last update: 8 July 2013

Copyright 2000 - 2014 © European Space Agency. All rights reserved.