Call for papers issued for POLinSAR 2003 workshop

Announcement of Opportunity
21 June 2002

The European Space Agency has issued a Call for Papers for an upcoming workshop on Synthetic Aperture Radar (SAR) Polarmetry and Polarimetric Interferometry. The workshop, POLinSAR 2003, will be held 14-16 January 2003, at ESA’s ESRIN facility in Frascati, Italy.

Contributions are invited for the following sessions:

  • Studies on polarmetry/interferometry
  • Agriculture/land cover vegetation
  • Sea ice
  • Advances in polarimetric interferometry
  • Applications development
  • Envisat early results
  • Airborne/spaceborne systems and products

The deadline for abstracts is 15 September 2002, with notification of acceptance by 15 October 2002.

“The successful launch of the Advanced Synthetic Aperture Radar (ASAR) on the Envisat spacecraft is demonstrating the interest of multipolarisation for new applications development,” says Yves-Louis Desnos, the workshop’s organiser and head of the ESA’s user support section from the Earth observation applications department. “This workshop will provide the forum for bringing together the world’s leading researchers in polarimetry and polarimetric interferometry for a scientific exchange on the latest multipolarisation techniques, and to formulate recommendations for applications and future missions.”

POLinSAR 2003 is open to ESA Principal Investigators and scientists working in the field of SAR polarimetry and polarimetric interferometry, and to representatives from national, European and international space agencies.

The scientific committee for the workshop includes: Prof Wolfgang-Martin Boerner, University of Chicago (US), Dr Shane Claude, AELc (UK), Dr Douglas Corr, QinetiQ (UK), Prof Preben Gudmandsen, DTU (Denmark), Dr Dirk H. Hoekman, SarVision (Netherlands), Dr Jong-Sen Lee, NRL (US), Dr Thuy Le Toan, Cesbio, (France), Prof Pierfrancesco Lombardo, University of Rome (Italy), Dr Soren N. Madsen, JPL (US), Dr Alberto Moreira, DLR (Germany), Dr Kostas Papathanassiou, DLR (Germany), Dr Kim Partington, Vexcel (UK), Prof Eric Pottier, University of Rennes (France), Prof Shaun Quegan, SCEOS (UK), Dr Paul Saich, UCL (UK), Prof Christiane Schmullius, University of Jena (Germany), Dr Masanobu Shimada, NASDA (Japan), Dr Habil Hiroyoshi Yamada, Niigata University (Japan), Prof Henning Skriver, DTU (Denmark), Dr Jean-Claude Souyris, CNES, (France), Dr Ridha Touzi, CCRS (Canada), and Dr Dan J. Weydahl (NDRE), Norway.

For additional information on submitting abstracts and registering for the conference, please contact the conference organisers at:

Copyright 2000 - 2018 © European Space Agency. All rights reserved.