Candidate Earth Explorer Assessment Reports now available

Candidate Earth Explorers

28 November 2008

In connection with the Candidate Earth Explorer User Consultation meeting to be held on 20-21 January 2009 in Lisbon, Portugal, the Reports for Assessment for the six candidate missions are now available and downloadable from this website.

Over the last two years, ESA has been working on the next generation of Earth Explorer candidate missions. The Earth Explorer User Consultation meeting will provide the forum for each of the six candidate missions to be reviewed by leading scientists from the Earth science community. After the meeting, the Earth Science Advisory Committee will provide its recommendations to the Agency as to which of the missions should be selected for further development.

The Reports for Assessment for each mission are downloadable from the right-hand bar. Hard copies of the reports will be provided at the Earth Explorer User Consultation meeting.

A-SCOPE - The A-SCOPE mission concept aims to observe total column carbon dioxide with a nadir-looking pulsed Differential Absorption Lidar (DIAL).

BIOMASS - The aim of the BIOMASS mission concept is to significantly improve estimates carbon stocks and fluxes over land through global measurements of forest biomass and its change with time.

CoReH2O - The CoReH2O mission concept aims to fill the gaps in current information on snow, glaciers and surface water.

FLEX - The main aim of the FLEX concept is to make global observations of photosynthesis through the measurement of chlorophyll-fluorescence.

PREMIER - The PREMIER concept aims to advance our understanding of the processes that link trace gases, radiation and chemistry in the upper troposphere and lower stratosphere.

TRAQ - The TRAQ mission concept focuses on air quality and the long-range transport of air pollutants.

More information about the meeting in January can be found at the Earth Explorer User Consultation Meeting website.

Please note that the deadline for meeting registration is 5 December 2008.

Copyright 2000 - 2018 © European Space Agency. All rights reserved.