Types of orbit

Satellites in geostationary orbit

Spacecraft can be put into a number of different orbits or trajectories following launch, depending on their destination and the science goals of the mission.

1. Orbiting spacecraft

   a. Low Earth orbit
   b. Geostationary and geosynchronous
   c. Polar orbit
   d. Sun-synchronous orbit

2. Lagrangian points

   a. L1
   b. L2
   c. L3
   d. L4 and L5

3. Flybys and gravity assists

Last update: 17 July 2013

Copyright 2000 - 2019 © European Space Agency. All rights reserved.