Science on Stage - Organisers

Eiroforum Logo
The seven organisations forming the consortium that organises Science on Stage have established a formal collaboration at the level of their Directors General in the EIROforum (European Intergovernmental Research Organisations’ Forum). The EIROforum has set up a number of inter-organisational, topical working groups, including one on Outreach and Education. The individuals who are involved in the Science on Stage 2 project are all members of the EIROforum Working Group on Outreach and Education.

The partner organisations are:
The European Organization for Nuclear Research (CERN)

CERN is one of the world’s most prestigious research centres. Its business is fundamental physics – finding out what makes our universe work, where it came from, and where it is going. CERN scientists use complex particle accelerators and detectors to collide minute particles of matter and unravel the basic laws of nature.
ESA Logo
The European Space Agency (ESA)

In the words of its Convention, the European Space Agency provides for and promotes, for exclusively peaceful purposes, co-operation among European States in space research and technology and their space applications, with a view to their being used for scientific purposes and for operational space applications systems.
ESO Logo
The European Southern Observatory (ESO)

ESO is the European organisation for astronomical research. ESO operates observational facilities equipped with powerful instruments at two sites: the La Silla observatory in the Atacama desert in Chile, and the world’s prime optical/infrared astronomical facility, the Very Large Telescope Array (VLT) at the Paranal Observatory.
The European Molecular Biology Laboratory (EMBL)

EMBL has four main missions: to carry out basic research in molecular biology, to train scientists at all levels, to offer vital services in the life sciences to its member states, and to develop instruments and methodologies.
The European Fusion Development Agreement (EFDA)

The European Fusion Development Agreement (EFDA) is a framework between Euratom and its partners in the field of controlled thermonuclear fusion. Fusion research aims at providing mankind with a long-term, safe, environmentally-benign energy source for the future.
The European Synchrotron Radiation Facility (ESRF)

The European Synchrotron Radiation Facility is one of the most powerful synchrotron radiation sources in the world. It produces hard X-rays for use in specialised fields of research, which can be applied to polymers, pharmaceuticals, cosmetics, foodstuffs, fine chemicals, metals, semiconductors, composites, biomaterials, and much more.
ILL Logo
The Institut Laue-Langevin (ILL)

The Institut Laue-Langevin (ILL) is the world’s leading research centre for neutron science and technology. The ILL operates the most intense neutron source in the world and unique advanced instrumentation that is used by scientists from the partner countries for research in particle physics, condensed matter physics, magnetism, chemistry, biology, crystallography and materials science.
EPS Logo
Further to the EIROforum organisations, Science on Stage 3 also involves a number of additional partners, such as the European Physical Society (EPS) and the European Association for Astronomy Education (EAAE). Partnerships at the national level have also been established by the respective national steering committtees.
The European Physical Society (EPS) is a not for profit association whose purpose is to promote physics and physicists in Europe. Created in 1968, the EPS provides an international forum to discuss science and policy issues of interest to its members.

The aim of European Association for Astronomy Education (EAAE)is to develop and to promote the teaching of Astronomy in the broadest way possible. By using a wide network of educators in astronomy in Europe at all levels, the members can take advantage of experiences in other countries.
Last update: 17 July 2007

More information

 •  EIROforum (http://www.eiroforum.org/)
 •  CERN (http://public.web.cern.ch/Public/Welcome.html)
 •  ESA (http://www.esa.int/esaCP/index.html)
 •  ESO (http://www.eso.org/)
 •  EMBL (http://www.embl.org/)
 •  EFDA (http://www.efda.org/)
 •  ESRF (http://www.esrf.fr/)
 •  ILL (http://www.ill.fr/)
 •  EPS (http://www.eps.org/)
 •  EAAE (http://www.algonet.se/%7Esirius/eaae.htm)