ESA title
ATV-3
Science & Exploration

ATV-3 set for overnight undocking

25/09/2012 864 views 1 likes
ESA / Science & Exploration / Human and Robotic Exploration / ATV

ESA’s Automated Transfer Vehicle Edoardo Amaldi is set to undock from the International Space Station tonight at 22:35 GMT (00:35 CEST).

Mission controllers will steer ATV-3 during 28 hours of free flight, ending with a controlled destructive reentry during the night of 26/27 September.

The past days have seen the Station crew loading final waste and rubbish for disposal, photographing and videoing the interior as a final record and closing the vessel’s hatch.

Inside ATV-3
Inside ATV-3

Last week, Russian cosmonaut Yuri Malenchenko performed the final transfers of urine from the Station into ATV’s Tanks 1 and 3.

Later, Japanese astronaut Akihiko Hoshide loaded and re-arranged rubbish inside ATV.

Yesterday, ATV’s hatch was closed for the last time at 16:55 GMT (18:55 CEST).

ATV Control Centre
ATV Control Centre

Undocking will start the 28-hour countdown to reentry, during which the vessel will be controlled around the clock by the joint ESA/CNES mission team at the Control Centre in Toulouse, France.

Reentry will begin shortly after 02:30 GMT (04:30 CEST) on 27 September, with impact in an unpopulated area of the South Pacific expected around 03:30 GMT (05:30 CEST).

Follow live updates on undocking and reentry via ESA’s ATV blog.

Related Links

ATV-3 leaves Space Station
Science & Exploration

Mission accomplished for ATV Edoardo Amaldi

03/10/2012 3438 views 3 likes
Read
ATV-3 docks with Space Station
Science & Exploration

ATV undocked

29/09/2012 1206 views 3 likes
Read
ATV-3 docks with Space Station
Science & Exploration

ATV-3 set for overnight undocking

25/09/2012 864 views 1 likes
Read
ATV-1 reentry
Enabling & Support

So long… and thanks for all the oxygen

20/09/2012 1554 views 2 likes
Read
ATV-3
Science & Exploration

Learn to dock ATV the astronaut way

11/04/2012 3411 views 5 likes
Read
ATV Edoardo Amaldi approaches ISS
Enabling & Support

Busy first days for ATV Edoardo Amaldi

03/04/2012 1227 views 0 likes
Read
Science & Exploration

ATV music video: Back at the ISS

26/03/2012 1164 views 0 likes
Read
Artemis satellite artist's view
Enabling & Support

Artemis: the ATV whisperer

26/03/2012 2003 views 4 likes
Read
ATV docking
Science & Exploration

Europe’s third cargo vehicle docks with the Space Station

29/03/2012 2322 views 0 likes
Read
Liftoff of Ariane 5 VA205 with ATV-3
Science & Exploration

Europe’s smart supply ship on its way to Space Station

23/03/2012 1809 views 0 likes
Read
ATV-3 Launch
Science & Exploration

ATV-3 launch

23/03/2012 1935 views 0 likes
Read
Ariane 5 with ATV Edoardo Amaldi
Science & Exploration

Crucial first steps in ATV’s orbital journey

21/03/2012 1289 views 0 likes
Read
ATV-3
Science & Exploration

ATV Edoardo Amaldi set for liftoff

21/03/2012 986 views 0 likes
Read
ATV-3 loading has begun
Science & Exploration

ATV-3 launch preparations going on

680 views 1 likes
Read
ATV approaching Space Station
Science & Exploration

New target launch date for ATV-3

05/03/2012 1424 views 1 likes
Read
ATV approaching Space Station
Enabling & Support

ATV launch delayed

02/03/2012 1477 views 1 likes
Read
ATV-3 fuelling
Enabling & Support

Europe’s ATV space ferry set for launch to Space Station

08/02/2012 1215 views 2 likes
Read
Unloading in Kourou harbour
Enabling & Support

ATV Edoardo Amaldi arrives in Kourou

26/08/2011 1091 views 1 likes
Read