An astronaut's reflection
Science & Exploration

Watch Alexander Gerst's return to Earth

24797 views 134 likes
ESA / Science & Exploration / Human and Robotic Exploration / International Space Station

ESA astronaut Alexander Gerst is wrapping up his second stay on the International Space Station, the Horizons mission, running over 50 experiments for the partners of the weightless research laboratory as well as maintaining the outpost. Alexander became the second ESA astronaut to take over command of the International Space Station.

Alexander is returning to Earth in a Soyuz capsule on 20 December 2018  marking the end of the Horizons mission. He will travel on the Soyuz MS-09 spacecraft along with NASA astronaut Serena Auñón-Chancellor and Roscosmos cosmonaut Sergei Prokopyev.

The farewell, undocking and landing will be shown on NASA television below: 

 

Alexander will fly from the landing site in Kazakhstan to the ESA’s astronaut centre in Cologne, Germany, via Norway. Although the mission might seem to be over, researchers are eager to run more tests at the ':envihab' facilities to see how Alexander’s body has dealt with six months in space – many more blood draws, tests and sample-sessions await. 

Schedule

19 December 2018

Farewells Coverage starts 21:45 GMT (22:45 CET)
Hatch closing                                        22:30 GMT (23:30 CET)

20 December 2018

Undocking 01:40 GMT (02:40 CET) Coverage starts 00:45 GMT (01:45 CET)
First thruster firing to start reentry and landing 04:10 GMT (05:10 CET)
Landing 05:03 GMT (06:03 CET) Coverage starts 03:45 GMT (04:45 CET)
Take-off from Kazakhstan  09:30 GMT (10:30 CET)
Arrival at Cologne 18:45 GMT (19:45 CET)
Arrival at :envihab  19:15 GMT (20:15 CET)

  

Follow @esaspaceflight on Twitter for updates.

Read more about the Horizons mission and watch the video below to learn more about how astronauts return to Earth from the International Space Station.

Play
$video.data_map.short_description.content
Soyuz undocking, reentry and landing explained
Access the video

Related Articles

Related Articles

Horizons logo
Science & Exploration

New Horizons for Alexander Gerst

29/05/2017 12518 views 134 likes
Open item
Alexander commander of ISS announcement
Science & Exploration

Alexander Gerst to be Space Station commander

18/05/2016 17043 views 87 likes
Open item
German President Gauck visits ESA in Darmstadt
Agency

German Head of State visits ESA Operations Centre

26/05/2014 2827 views 14 likes
Open item
HM Queen Beatrix and Italian President Napolitano at ESTEC
Agency

A royal and presidential visit to ESA’s technical heart

26/10/2012 1414 views 3 likes
Open item
Alexander Gerst back on Earth
Science & Exploration

ESA astronaut Alexander Gerst returns to Earth

10/11/2014 18851 views 54 likes
Open item
Science & Exploration

Alexander’s rollercoaster ride from space to Germany

06/11/2014 9302 views 66 likes
Open item
Alexander testing spacesuit
Science & Exploration

Alexander Gerst set for spacewalk

03/10/2014 9883 views 61 likes
Open item
Complete crew
Science & Exploration

Halfway through Blue Dot mission

18/09/2014 4877 views 48 likes
Open item
Our blue dot
Science & Exploration

Blue Dot update

15/07/2014 3546 views 22 likes
Open item
Moonrise from space
Science & Exploration

Spot the Space Station looking at you

01/07/2014 16836 views 77 likes
Open item
Flying over Earth
Science & Exploration

Science and spacewalks on Space Station

20/06/2014 5284 views 65 likes
Open item
Alexander Gerst
Science & Exploration

Alexander’s first week in space

05/06/2014 7426 views 71 likes
Open item
Liftoff of Soyuz TMA-13M on 28 May 2014
Science & Exploration

ESA astronaut Alexander Gerst arrives at Space Station

29/05/2014 6877 views 44 likes
Open item
Alexander Gerst
Science & Exploration

Expedition 40 all set to go

26/05/2014 5384 views 50 likes
Open item
Columbus Control Centre
Science & Exploration

Munich to Alexander: all systems go

22/05/2014 3737 views 42 likes
Open item
Final qualification exams for the Expedition 40/41 crew
Science & Exploration

Alexander Gerst ready for orbit

09/05/2014 1701 views 18 likes
Open item
Testing Sokol suit
Science & Exploration

Ask astronaut Alexander anything

11/03/2014 3416 views 35 likes
Open item
Alexander Gerst
Science & Exploration

Inside astronaut Alexander’s head

17/02/2014 5058 views 64 likes
Open item
Blue Dot mission logo
Science & Exploration

Announcing Blue Dot mission logo

22/09/2013 8620 views 70 likes
Open item

Related Links