Thomas Reiter shortly after entering ISS for the first time
Science & Exploration

Discovery crew have entered International Space Station

06/07/2006 157 views 0 likes
ESA / Science & Exploration / Human and Robotic Exploration / Astrolab

The crew of Space Shuttle Discovery, including ESA astronaut Thomas Reiter, entered the International Space Station following hatch opening at 18:30 CEST (16:30 UT).

Just over one and a half hours after docking of Discovery at 16:52 CEST (14:52 UT), the hatches were opened and the STS-121 crew entered the Space Station for the first time.

The seven astronauts were greeted on board by Expedition 13 crewmembers Commander Pavel Vinogradov, and Flight Engineer Jeff Williams, who have lived on the Station since their arrival in March.

A view of ISS from Discovery as the Shuttle approaches for docking
A view of ISS from Discovery as the Shuttle approaches for docking

First item on the schedule for both crews now is a safety briefing for the new arrivals. Also early on the schedule today is the transfer of Thomas Reiter's tailor-made Soyuz seat-liner. Once this is installed in the Soyuz TMA-8 spacecraft, Reiter will officially have joined the Expedition 13 crew as Flight Engineer 2 - marking the start of Europe's first long duration mission to the ISS.

Related Links