STS-122 crew

Columbus Mission crew (STS-122 & Expedition 16)

Columbus was carried into orbit with a crew of seven on Space Shuttle flight STS-122. Expedition 16 crew were in orbit when the Columbus laboratory was installed as a permanent element of the International Space Station.


ESA astronaut Hans Schlegel

Hans Schlegel (ESA)

ESA astronaut Hans Schlegel was a Mission Specialist for the STS-122 mission. He took part in his first spacewalk during the mission. STS-122 was his second spaceflight - he previously flew as Payload Specialist during the German Spacelab D-2 mission, STS-55.

Full biography >>

ESA astronaut Léopold Eyharts

Léopold Eyharts (ESA)

ESA astronaut Léopold Eyharts was a Mission Specialist for the STS-122 mission. Upon arrival he joined the Expedition 16 crew as Flight Engineer 2, replacing Daniel Tani. Eyharts stayed in space for 7 weeks, returning to Earth with Shuttle flight STS-123 on 27 March 2008.

Full biography >>

Astronaut Stephen Frick

Stephen N. Frick

NASA astronaut Stephen Frick was the Commander of the STS-122 mission. He completed his first spaceflight as pilot on the STS-110 mission.

Full biography >>

Astronaut Alan Poindexter

Alan G. Poindexter

NASA astronaut Alan Poindexter was assigned as pilot on the STS-122 mission. He has previously served in the NASA Astronaut Office Shuttle Operations Branch performing duties as the lead support astronaut at Kennedy Space Center, Florida.

Full biography >>

Astronaut Rex Walheim

Rex J. Walheim

Mission STS-122 is astronaut Rex Walheim's second mission. He also served on the EVA crew of the STS-110 mission. On the STS-122 mission he was assigned as a Mission Specialist. He participated in all three spacewalks performed during the STS-122 mission.

Full biography >>

Astronaut Stanley Love

Stanley G. Love

As Mission Specialist NASA astronaut Stanley Love participated in two spacewalks during the STS-122 mission. Love previously served as a CAPCOM in Mission Control for International Space Station Expeditions 1 through 7 and for Space Shuttle missions STS-104, STS-108, and STS-112.

Full biography >>

Astronaut Leland Melvin

Leland D. Melvin

NASA astronaut Leland Melvin was a Mission Specialist on the STS-122 mission. He operated the Station's robotic arm during three spacewalks performed during the mission. Melvin was previously assigned to NASA's Astronaut Office Space Station Operations Branch, the Education Department at NASA Headquarters, and in the Robotics Branch of the Astronaut Office.

Full biography >>

ISS Expedition 16

Expedition 16 crew portrait

Peggy Whitson

NASA astronaut Peggy A. Whitson is the Commander for Expedition 16. This is her second tour of duty aboard the Station. She also was a Flight Engineer and Science Officer for Expedition 5 in 2002.

NASA biography >>

Yuri Malenchenko

Expedition 16 is Cosmonaut Yuri Malenchenko's second tour of duty on board the Station. He also served as Commander of Expedition 7. Malenchenko was a Mission Specialist for STS-106 in 2000 and commanded Mir 16 in 1996.

NASA biography >>

Daniel M. Tani

NASA astronaut Daniel Tani launched to the International Space Station on Shuttle flight STS-120 and joined Expedition 16 as a Flight Engineer. Tani was replaced by ESA astronaut Léopold Eyharts and he returned home on Shuttle flight STS-122.

NASA biography >>

Last update: 7 February 2013

Copyright 2000 - 2019 © European Space Agency. All rights reserved.