Agency

Samantha Cristoforetti to ISS: Futura Mission

Date: Tue, Nov 18, 2014 | 07:30 - 07:45 GMT | 08:30 - 08:45 CET

Replay: Tue, Nov 18, 2014 | 16:00 - 16:15 GMT | 17:00 - 17:15 CET

Type: ESA TV Exchange

Format: 16:9

On 24 November Samantha Cristoforetti will fly to the International Space station aboard a Soyuz from Baikonur,

Selected as an ESA astronaut in May 2009, Samantha Cristoforetti joined ESA in September 2009 and completed basic astronaut training in November 2010.

In July 2012 she was assigned to an Italian Space Agency ASI mission aboard the International Space Station, to be launched on a Soyuz spacecraft from Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan in 2014.

This will be the second long-duration ASI mission and the eighth long-duration mission for an ESA astronaut. Samantha will be the first Italian woman to fly in space.

More information at: http://www.esa.int/Our_Activities/Human_Spaceflight/Astronauts/Samantha_Cristoforetti

Preview and download:
https://www.esa.int/ESA_Multimedia/Videos/2014/09/Futura_mission

Script:
EbS97518.doc

Satellite Parameters: Eutelsat 9A at 9 degrees E, transponder 59, downlink frequency 11900.1 horizontally polarised, symbol rate 27,500 FEC 2/3.