Agency

Dealing with Space Debris

Date: Tue, Apr 11, 2017 | 06:30 - 06:45 GMT | 08:30 - 08:45 CEST

Replay: Tue, Apr 11, 2017 | 15:00 - 15:15 GMT | 17:00 - 17:15 CEST

Type: ESA TV Exchange

Format: 16:9

The Earth is surrounded by a cloud of space debris. This material ranges from dead satellites and upper stages of launchers, to fragments of material and even flecks of paint…and all this junk could do enormous damage to operational spacecraft.

On 18 April (2017), experts from around the world will be meeting at ESA’s European Space Operations Centre (ESOC) at Darmstadt in Germany for the 7th European Conference on Space Debris.

Delegates will discuss the extent of the debris problem and what can be done to ensure that satellites we rely on – providing us with services such as navigation, TV and weather forecasting – can operate in the future without elevated risks.

More information at: http://www.esa.int/Our_Activities/Operations/Space_Debris

Preview and download:
http://www.esa.int/ESA_Multimedia/Videos/2017/04/Dealing_with_space_debris

Script:
Dealing with Space Debris script_FINAL-TC.docx

Satellite Parameters: Eutelsat 9A at 9 degrees E, transponder 59, downlink frequency 11900.1 horizontally polarised, symbol rate 27,500 FEC 2/3.