Agency

Bepi Colombo's Journey to Launch

Date: Tue, May 22, 2018 | 05:30 - 05:45 GMT | 07:30 - 07:45 CEST

Replay: Tue, May 22, 2018 | 15:00 - 15:15 GMT | 17:00 - 17:15 CEST

Type: ESA TV Exchange

Format: 16:9

The component parts of BepiColombo, the European Space Agency’s first mission to Mercury, are on their way to the launch pad in French Guiana.  

The joint mission between ESA and the Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency (JAXA) consists of two spacecraft and one transfer module.

These took four weeks to disassemble and pack and required 70 shipping containers and 4 cargo planes to ensure it all gets to the European Spaceport at Kourou safely.

In Kourou everything is now unpacked and re-assembled together with the addition of solar panels before launching to Mercury later this year.

This A & B Roll explains the status of BepiColombo and recalls its main challenges.

It includes an interview with Johannes Benkhoff, Project Scientist BEPI COLOMBO , ESA.

More information at: http://www.esa.int/Our_Activities/Space_Science/BepiColombo_overview2

Preview and download:
http://www.esa.int/ESA_Multimedia/Videos/2018/05/Bepi_Colombo_s_Journey_to_launch

Script:
BEPI COLOMBOS JOURNEY TO LAUNCH - FINAL.docx

Satellite Parameters: Eutelsat 9A at 9 degrees E, transponder 59, downlink frequency 11900.1 horizontally polarised, symbol rate 27,500 FEC 2/3.