Opportunity for European students to attend NASA Academy 2009

NASA Academy students
2 December 2008

ESA is sponsoring two students from ESA Member and Cooperating States to attend the 2009 NASA Academy. The application deadline is 16 January 2009.

Application method has been updated, please see below.

At the initiative of the International Space Education Board (ISEB), established by NASA, ESA, CNES, JAXA and CSA, ESA has decided to sponsor two European students as part of the 2009 intake for the prestigious NASA Academy summer session.

The NASA Academy is a ten-week, intensive summer research programme conducted in four of the NASA centres: Ames Research Centre, Glenn Research Centre, Goddard Space Flight Centre and Marshall Space Flight Centre. Designed for undergraduate and graduate students interested in aerospace engineering and space sciences, it enables them to participate in NASA research projects.

How to Apply

ESA is sponsoring two students to attend this programme in 2009. The application process has now opened and students interested in this opportunity should:

  1. Choose 3 to 5 projects they are interested in. A comprehensive list of projects can be found on the document “GSFC Project List”. European students should try to choose at least one project with an international scope (some of those are highlighted in yellow).
  2. Complete the NASA Academy International Application Form and prepare all supporting documents in Word or PDF format
  3. Write a cover letter outlining why they would be interested in participating in the NASA Academy and why they believe ESA should consider them for sponsorship.
  4. Submit the above documents to the Student Participation Programme in a single email no later than midnight 16 January 2009

Only students who meet the eligibility criteria will be considered for selection by the ESA and NASA group of experts.

Eligibility Criteria

Applicants should refer to the NASA criteria, available on the application website. Moreover, for European students, the following criteria also apply:

  • The student must be aged between 18 and 28 at the time of the academy.
  • The student must hold the nationality of an ESA Member State or Cooperating State.*
  • At the time of application, the student must be enrolled as a full-time student in a university located in an ESA Member State or Cooperating State.
  • Applicants must currently be enrolled in their 4th or 5th (last) year at university (master level).
  • The student must have obtained high grades throughout her/his diploma, with a major in engineering, science (physics, chemistry, biology, earth sciences, etc.), maths, computer science or other areas of interest to the aerospace sector.

For further information, please contact the Student Participation Programme.

* ESA Member States in 2012
Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Poland, Romania, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom.
Cooperating States
Canada, Estonia, Hungary and Slovenia.
Copyright 2000 - 2018 © European Space Agency. All rights reserved.