Back to Index French German

N° 15–2017: Call for media: ESA at the Paris Air and Space Show 2017

12 June 2017

The 52nd International Paris Air and Space Show at Le Bourget will open its doors on Monday, 19 June. Media are invited to join ESA at the events presented at its pavilion, located between the two full-scale models of the Ariane 1 and Ariane 5 launchers near the permanent Air and Space Museum.

The ESA pavilion will feature ambitious European missions and projects across all space domains, with a focus on recent achievements and upcoming endeavours. 

Central to this presentation will be what ESA Director General Jan Woerner defines as ‘Space 4.0’, an era in which the space sector evolves from being the preserve of the governments of a few spacefaring nations to a new reality, with an increased number of diverse space actors around the world, from public to private, from local to global, from academia to citizens. 

Accordingly, ESA will be highlighting projects ranging from space science and technology to future plans for human spaceflight, robotic exploration and from space transportation systems to space-based services and applications.

Thematic talks will take place each day in the central forum with Space 4.0 as the overarching vision.

For an overview of events, visit the dedicated events programme page:


Journalists wanting to attend the Paris Air Show should seek accreditation through through the organisers: https://


Media who would like to attend the social media events on 24 and 25 June, should apply by addressing the request to before Friday, 16 June.   

About the European Space Agency


The European Space Agency (ESA) provides Europe’s gateway to space.

ESA is an intergovernmental organisation, created in 1975, with the mission to shape the development of Europe’s space capability and ensure that investment in space delivers benefits to the citizens of Europe and the world.

ESA has 22 Member States: Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and the United Kingdom. Slovenia is an Associate Member.

ESA has established formal cooperation with six Member States of the EU. Canada takes part in some ESA programmes under a Cooperation Agreement.

By coordinating the financial and intellectual resources of its members, ESA can undertake programmes and activities far beyond the scope of any single European country. It is working in particular with the EU on implementing the Galileo and Copernicus programmes as well as with EUMETSAT for the development of meteorological missions.

ESA develops the launchers, spacecraft and ground facilities needed to keep Europe at the forefront of global space activities.

Today, it develops and launches satellites for Earth observation, navigation, telecommunications and astronomy, sends probes to the far reaches of the Solar System and cooperates in the human exploration of space. ESA also has a strong applications programme developing services in the Earth observation, navigation and telecommunications domain.

Learn more about ESA at

For further information:

ESA Media Relations


Tel: +33 1 53 69 72 99