ESA title
Science & Exploration

Human spaceflight and Exploration Science Advisory Committee (HESAC)

1403 views 1 likes
ESA / Science & Exploration / Human and Robotic Exploration / Research

The Human spaceflight and Exploration Science Advisory Committee (HESAC) is ESA’s senior advisory body on all matters concerning scientific exploitation of human spaceflight, microgravity and exploration programmes. HESAC is composed of ten European scientific experts and a limited number of members from advisory working groups and observers. The committee presents the views and needs of the European scientific community to access space experimentation and data exploitation in human spaceflight, microgravity and exploration programmes.

In its role as advisor on science and scientific activities, HESAC takes into account the recommendations of science working groups, in particular the Life Sciences Working Group, the Physical Sciences Working Group and the Solar System Exploration Working Group.

HESAC Members

July 2018 - June 2022 Dr. Athena Coustenis, Chair, Paris Observatory, CNRS, PSL University, France
July 2018 - June 2022 Prof. Sarah Baatout, Belgian Nuclear Research Center, SCK-CEN, Belgium
January 2018 - December 2021 Dr. Fabrizio Capaccioni, INAF-IAPS, Italy
January 2018 - December 2021 Prof. Harald Hiesinger, University of Münster, Germany
July 2018 - June 2022 Dr. Michèle Lavagna, Politecnico di Milano, Italy
July 2018 - June 2022 Prof. Bernard Marty, Université de Lorraine, France
July 2018 - June 2022     Prof. Andreas Meyer, German Aerospace Center (DLR), Institute for Materials Physics in Space, Germany
January 2018 - December 2021 Prof. Anu Ojha, National Space Centre, United Kingdom        
January 2018 - December 2021 Prof. Sir. Munir Pirmohamed, University of Liverpool, United Kingdom
January 2018 - December 2021 Dr. Caroline Smith, The Natural History Museum, London, United Kingdom



Ex Officio members

Chair Space Science Advisory Committee Dr. Martin Hewitson, Max-Planck Institute for Gravitational Waves, Hannover, Germany
Chair Life Sciences Working Group Dr. Marco Durante, GSI Helmholtz Centre for Heavy Ion Research, Darmstadt, Germany
Chair Physical Sciences Working Group Dr. Andrea Scagliarini, Italian National Research Council (CNR), Institute for Applied Mathematics "M. Picone" (IAC), Rome, Italy
Chair Solar System Exploration Working Group Dr. Stephan Ulamec, German Aerospace Centre, LCC/MUSC, Cologne, Germany

Invited Ex officio as observers

Chair Human spaceflight, Microgravity and Exploration Programme Board Mr. Pierre Coquay, Belspo, Brussels, Belgium
Chair European Space Sciences Committee Dr. Athena Coustenis, Paris Observatory, CNRS, PSL University, France




Related Links

Related Links